In Pursuit of Mediocrity

Posted: December 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

Not me, I hope. I don’t look to be mediocre. I want to do the best I can, to the best of my ability. One year, Bill Hybels (the pastor of Willow Creek Community Church) once asked the congregation to, as a family, talk about the goals that you have as a family. We turned first to our son Tim, who was perhaps 10 at the time, and he answered, “Do your best!” I don’t remember now if we had done anything to formalize that goal at that time, but it is something I’ve had to struggle with my whole life.
I think my parents let me get away with being mediocre sometimes. They had four kids, and couldn’t keep up with all of us. But the message somehow penetrated. I swam my brains out in high school and did very well on the school team. I played football one year–as a junior–and to this day regret I didn’t start it sooner. When I got to college, I started to be serious with my guitar. Then after college with my masters degrees and the doctorate.
I got the highest grades in our Chicago cycle for Vanderbilt. I wrote a dissertation and it was well received because I had bought into this pursuit of excellence thing. I did take almost five years to finish the doctorate, but I had something to be proud of, because my advisor, Dr. Terry Deal, pushed and pushed me to do better. Do better. I still appreciate it.
Every day, I memorize scripture. I’m currently struggling through the first letter of the Apostle John. It is very difficult for me, for some reason. I’ve memorized a great deal of the New Testament, and several shorter books of the old. I’m learning to be precise and to honor scripture by learning it letter perfect.
Tomorrow is New Year’s Eve, and we’re having one of our movie nights. Can’t wait.
Blessings in the New Year..

Leave a Reply

