45 Years of Marriage

Posted: December 20, 2014 in Uncategorized

Yes. Astoundingly, one woman has stayed married to me since I was in my early twenties. I think it’s a good time for some retrospection, if there is such a word. The day we got married was one of the happiest of my life. It really got better once the ceremony was over. Jacqi was violently sick: I mean, staggeringly so. She had a strep throat–the only one that, to my knowledge, she’s

    ever

had. I was recovering from one of the only benders I’ve ever been on. It was my fault. I went out with my buddies(?) and got loaded–disasterously so. Dave Ivers came in Friday and stayed with us, and he got me going with some stuff called Set’l–good for hangovers. So I was a mess for the rehearsal dinner, which my parents hosted at their home. As usual my mother regarded it with resentment as she did everything she had to for me. She was bitter, angry and hostile–well, as usual.
Still, the ceremony went on without a hitch. I’m not sure that I’m actually married, in a spiritual sense. In the eyes of the law, there’s not a question. I said my vows with a clear mind, but Jacqi was so groggy I don’t think she knew what she was doing. When she stood next to me, I turned to her, and realized that I had to hold her around the waist or she would more than likely fall forward into the pastor. As I say, without a hitch.
Then we had the reception at the Millionaire’s Club in Park Forest, and really had a good time. My brother Bob, 15 years old, drank about 10 whiskey sours and had to be taken home. My parents impressed everyone with their dancing ability, and really, they were very good–my mother was mad, of course, but I can’t remember why or at whom–and Jac and I did okay. Surprisingly, once the wedding was over, Jacqi was fine and became the life of the party. We left and went to the Holiday Inn in Chicago on Lake Shore Drive.
Ah, marriage. Mine has been wonderful. the wedding? I vividly remember my father in law saying that he was ready for a six weeks drunk when it concluded. Our lives? We’ve had a great time on balance: troubles like everyone else, but fun and games most of the time.

Leave a Reply

