not looking forward to tomorrow

Posted: November 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

Well, tomorrow I have to go downtown to Chicago. Yes, indeed. I’m looking forward to it as much as i would a serious bunion operation. I’ve been pretty well guilted by this: “Don’t you care about your granddaughter?” “Why wouldn’t you want to go?”

“What kind of awful human are you?”

Well, I don’t know. My female relatives are going to American Girl, there to shop for dolls, clothes, a nice lunch an’ cetera. (Soupier, in the words of Peanuts.) My female relatives believe that I’ll go to a cafe, sit there happily, writing and reading, all that–not a care in the world.

Now, dinna get me wrong. I do love Chicago. Grew up there. Went downtown at Christmas to see Santa at Field’s (which, appalingly, is now Macey’s. Ate the little red hen lunch at Field’s. Saw Santa. Love the lakefront, the museums, an’ cetra.

But I don’t want to go. Please pray that I’ll revise my cruddy attitude and be pleasant, swallow my anger and resentment, etc. Also that I’ll be able to get some work done, eat a good lunch, all that. Love you all, mean it sincerely. Jeff

Leave a Reply

