up all night

Posted: January 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

I’m having one of those nights: jerked awake suddenly, my heart going like crazy–and I can’t get back to sleep. So I’ll redeem the time with a little writing. Excellent movie yesterday: we went to see the biographical film about P. L. Travers, the author of the Mary Poppins books, and her relationship with Walt Disney. Emma Thompson is a film treasure, and Saving Mr. Banks is also. Eventually, as everyone knows, she relented and allowed Disney to make the film. Still it was wrenching for her, as it brought back her childhood of living with a drunk father in the outback of Australia. The books provided, if the film can be believed, a catharsis for her: the story is told in flashback, and we go from an impressionable little girl with a dolt for a father to a self absorbed arrogant woman with little resembling fun in her life. Disney, portrayed by the umimaginably talented Tom Hanks, persists in trying to draw her out and let her experience some fun in her drab, un-fun life. Recommended hightly.

Meanwhile, we seem to be on the verge of breaking free from the iron — and altogether unpleasant — grip of sub-zero weather. We’ll be up in the 30s by the end of the week. I was able to clear our walks today a bit more, and a bit more of the driveway. This has been something–school closed two day, so an extended vacation for the kids. I remember the dread I always felt at going back to school, both as a stripling and as an adults. Once I got back and got rolling along, it was okay, and, to be sure, I had a fun career with many nice memories. Still– it is so freeing to get up in the morning and realize that I can do what I really like, that is, spending time with Jacqi, going for a bite of breakfast with some cronies, writing, doing agency stuff. Today I’m having breakfast with the guys from First Baptist at the Colonial: some nice fellowship, and great to be with them.

I never much liked school, looking back on it. Learning was fine, though. Coming to grips with new material, new ideas, and new people was always fine. I tended–as I do today–to limit myself in my friendships. I have to do some thinking about that. It came up a few years ago when I did a tv show for TVN, and I remember one of the guys saying that he didn’t have a friend: acquaintances, yes, but his wife had died recently and he’d limited himself.

My film nights, I hope, will expand our group of friends somewhat. My gift has always been teaching: I hope that will come across as we see this new film a week from Friday. Jacqi has some good buddies, which pleases me immensely–I think I may have (unintentionally) limited her possibilities.

Back to bed. More later.

 

Leave a Reply

