Beautiful Day

Posted: September 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

Once in a while, I reach the end of the day and realize that I have had a golden day. By that I mean that as I think back on the day, I’m aware of a golden haze surrounding it, like something special happened, something I should always remember. One, for example, happened when I was a junior at the University of Illinois. I was dating a girl who went to Bradley, and she introduced me to her best friend, Jaynie, who went to Illinois. I remember walking back from the stadium with Jaynie and a roommate named Jon, and the quad was ablaze with color as the leaves had changed color, and everything seemed to be enclosed in a golden haze.  The leaves here in Geneva are turning now, and they are beautiful, to say the least, but the memory of that golden day stands out to me.

As to Jaynie, nothing ever came of it, but I did take her to her sorority formal that year–rented a tux, took her to dinner, etc. She wore black and looked beautiful. One time, when a girl came to visit me from Illinois State, she stayed with Jaynie. Nothing came of that, either. Just as well, I guess, since I wound up with the girl I really wanted to marry.

I had a golden day Friday, which is why I bring it up today. I went to Bible Study early–at my church, it is called TEAM. That ended and I went across the hall to another study, led by my buddy Dave Probst. After that I went home, and journaled while Jac went shopping (or, as my grandmother used to say, ‘marketing’). When she came home, we went to Valley Green and played 16 holes. That’s ’cause my wife pooped out after 15, so we played in on eighteen. We went home to martinis, a great dinner, a couple of episodes of 24, and to bed.

It isn’t that something really big happens on a golden day, Usually, it’s a simple day, with nothing spectacular, but it is peaceful, happy, a mini-vacation. Be aware and look for days when you go to sleep that seem to be surrounded by a golden haze. They happen.

 

Leave a Reply

