Running Every Day

Posted: July 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

It seems incredible that I’m going to be an old man. I come from a generation where someone famously said, “Never trust anyone over thirty.” I didn’t take that advice, obviously–I had a fine relationship with my parents, my in-laws, older teachers and so on. I think a great deal of the mistrust was based in the central event of my generation: The Viet Nam war, the war that never ended. I’ve always thought that no matter what the gains of that war amounted to, no gains were like the hideous demons that were unleashed on the country.

When I was in grade school and high school, and the first three years of college, no one talked about drugs for the most part. Liquor, yes; smoking, yes; but assuredly not chemicals. I’ve never taken a drug, never smoked, and use a minimum of alcohol–not because of a moral belief so much as I don’t handle liquor well. As to drugs–a few years ago, I fell on the ice and broke my arm badly enough to require surgery. The doctor prescribed a narcotic, rather to my dismay, but I decided to go along with it. I should have known better, I see  that now. About three days into the prescription, I was sitting on the couch, and my grandson Noah came over and I talked with him for some time. My wife Jacqi shook me and asked, “Who are you talking to?”—and I realized that Noah wasn’t even in the room. I was hallucinating.

That was the end of the narcotic, which met its fate in the bathroom. I switched to Tylenol.

But it underscored for me how dismal drug usage is. I don’t like being out of control. I don’t like seeing others out of control. I don’t enjoy dizziness. Screw it. We can live without drugs. Let’s work together to rid ourselves of so many of the demons we released in America.

In many ways, several of my books have an antidrug message. I hope you like them.

Leave a Reply

